Facebook Twitter

Yoshi's Oakland

Dining Reservations

Student Discounts

5:30pm to 9:00pm

5:30pm to 10:00pm

5:00PM to 9:00PM
*Open 2 hours before the show

Happy Hour:

Yoshi's Oakland
510 Embarcadero West
Jack London Square
Oakland, CA 94607
Phone: 510.238.9200

Jazz Club
click to enlarge

SEVA (featuring Hristo Vitchev and Weber Iago)

September 26, 2011

guitar/piano led quartet


8pm $14

SEVA was formed in late 2010 by Bulgarian modern jazz guitarist Hristo Vitchev and Brazilian piano sensation Weber Iago. Vitchev and Iago have a long musical relationship as band mates in the Hristo Vitchev Quartet and Quintet, the Vitchev / Iago Project, Joe DeRose and Amici as well as special guest appearances by Hristo with the Weber Iago quartet. All of their musical endeavors have received critical acclaim at the national and international jazz scenes.
However, with their brand new formation SEVA, the duo seeks to explore even more distant harmonic landscapes. The band combines jazz, impressionistic, classical, Latin, pop, and rock elements into a sound as diverse as the uniqueness of each one of its members. For this endeavor Vitchev and Iago are joined by virtuoso bass player Dan Robbins, and master drummer/percussionist Mike Shannon. The core foundation of SEVA can expand to a larger ensemble with the addition of voice, percussion, and horn instruments when the compositions require a more “world-music” treatment.

SEVA is: Hristo Vitchev - guitar, Weber Iago - piano, Dan Robbins - bass, Mike Shannon - drums.

Visit SEVA's official website at: www.sevatheband.com

Check out SEVA in action at: www.youtube.com/watch?v=31aBPu6igB0

Visit Hristo Vitchev's official website at: www.hristovitchev.com